05
Feb
12

My Digital Brand

I really couldn’t find much after my first attempts of Google searching myself. Maybe that’s a good thing? There happens to be many different musicians who share the same name as me. By the looks of it, many of them appear to be DJ’s.

But then I realized I should include other search terms into the mix, search terms that are more relevant than just my name. I used my hometown, “Naples, Florida” and found so much more about myself.

I know this might sound like something a parent, teacher, or professor would say, but the crazy thing about the internet is that some things don’t just disappear or get buried under other things. Along with finding my old Zinch profile, I also found my old MySpace.  I also found a tweet that I gps tagged myself in, it read:

Kind of immature, right? At least that’s what I would think upon seeing this through the eyes of a stranger.

I dug deeper, by looking at my Facebook profile. Surprisingly, there wasn’t nearly as much as I expected there to be. I was able to see some of the pages that I “like”, my profile picture, and my timeline background picture. Not much at all.

My twitter revealed a lot, which I don’t mind at all. I live a transparent life online, I’m an open book. A lot of this has to do with how much I use my personal twitter for my business in music. I purposefully tone down my iffy tweets, as I realize that a lot of this can be seen by potential employers.

This is basically what I’ve learned about my digital brand through all of this:

  • That just like in real life, I really like to speak openly about music.
  • I was really immature in my past.
  • It’s crazy how things change with people, and how at the same time, they don’t.
  • I’m an open book.

Things I would keep:

  • The music talk is great; after all, it’s who I am.
  • I should really continue to reduce any statements that could get me in trouble.

Things I would change:

  • I should really delete my old social networking profiles.
  • I need more pictures.
  • I should create a more simple email address, as well as a simpler url on my social networks.
  • I should broaden my Facebook likes to more than just music and the occasional book or movie.
  • There really is more to me than just music, I need to show that online.
  • I need to come to a decision over my Google + account, whether I should update the info, or delete it.

I’m really glad I did this, after all, Socrates did famously state that “the unexamined life is not worth living.”

2 Responses to “My Digital Brand”


  1. February 26, 2012 at 6:18 PM

    I think it’s always important to keep in mind the aspects of social networking that we’re on, especially what we put there. For me, I have two separate twitter accounts, one for myself and one for classes such as the one that we’re in together. I have tended to avoid posting so much nonsense on Facebook because that’s probably the one that employers will focus on the most, so I limit my status updates a lot more than I used to. However, like you said, it’s always important to keep the parts that are truly you, like the music aspects of what you post. Especially as we get closer to graduating and entering the real world, maybe going back and deleting or changing some things will be important to securing a better employment.


Leave a Reply

